RtNfFaP – A Two Tournament Weekend (Decklist Spotlight)

Okay, going to take a moment to be fully honest with everyone here.

I’m exhausted, as I have just finished two back to back Netrunner events (one Saturday, one on Sunday that I also happened to be running). I won the first (22 prestige) and was 6th in the latter. So, rather then a particularly lengthy  post, I figured I’d just share the two decks I ran with you, let you mull over them and talk a bit about them later.

So. First of all.

Deck Created with CardGameDB.com Android: Netrunner Deck Builder

http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/netrunner/android-netrunner-deck-builder

Identity:
Haas-Bioroid: Engineering the Future (Core)

Total Cards: (49)
Agenda (8)
Executive Retreat (Trace Amount #39) x2
Accelerated Beta Test (Core #55) x3
Priority Requisition (Core #106) x3

Asset (8)
Adonis Campaign (Core #56) x3
Aggressive Secretary (Core #57) x2
Melange Mining Corp (Core #108) x3

ICE (24)
Neural Katana (Core #77) x3
Chum (Core #75) x3
Ichi 1.0 (Core #62) x3
Rototurret (Core #64) x3
Enigma (Core #111) x3
Viktor 1.0 (Core #63) x3
Janus 1.0 (What Lies Ahead #12) x3
Archer (Core #101) x3

Operation (3)
Hedge Fund (Core #110) x3

Upgrade (6)
Ash 2X3ZB9CY (What Lies Ahead #13) x3
Corporate Troubleshooter (Core #65) x3

Total Agenda Points: 21

Influence Values Totals -
Haas-Bioroid: 43
Jinteki: 9
NBN: 0
The Weyland Consortium: 6

The thrust of this deck isn’t too difficult to gather.

You break the Runner.

You break their hopes, break their dreams, break their will to live. Pretty much every ICE in here is a threat in one way or another: program destruction, brain damage, and net damage all combine in an exceptionally messy affair. It is worth noting that the deck, oddly enough, doesn’t run Barriers which has been sort of an odd thing. It allows me to focus my program destruction very narrowly, which is a good thing. A lot of popular runner decks run ~2 breakers per subtype, so, not only have I completely wasted their barrier breaker, but I also only need to hit, say, two sentry breakers and the game is more or less over.

The downside to this deck is a very aggressive deck running Yog is a major problem. It is also a bit of an issue if ICE just refuse to come up as you need them.

Given I built this Friday night? I’d say it did pretty well. It was certainly an interesting experiment. Part of me wishes I’d run Tollbooth > Archer (something I might try later on), but the thing is a hard rezzed Archer, even giving up two points, can be absolutely devastating to the runner. Furthermore, even an exposed Archer with a Troubleshooter behind it ruins days. Dunno.

and

Deck Created with CardGameDB.com Android: Netrunner Deck Builder

http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/netrunner/android-netrunner-deck-builder

Identity:
Gabriel Santiago: Consummate Professional (Core)

Total Cards: (45)
Event (23)
Account Siphon (Core #18) x3
Easy Mark (Core #19) x3
Forged Activation Orders (Core #20) x3
Inside Job (Core #21) x3
Special Order (Core #22) x3
Sure Gamble (Core #50) x3
Diesel (Core #34) x2
Stimhack (Core #4) x3

Hardware (8)
Desperado (Core #24) x3
Lemuria Codecracker (Core #23) x2
Cortez Chip (What Lies Ahead #5) x3

Program (6)
Corroder (Core #7) x2
Ninja (Core #27) x2
ZU.13 Key Master (What Lies Ahead #7) x2

Resource (8)
Armitage Codebusting (Core #53) x3
Bank Job (Core #29) x3 (subbed out on Sunday for 2x Sneakdoor Beta and 1x Femme Fatale)
Crash Space (Core #30) x2

Influence Values Totals -
Anarch: 7
Criminal: 67
Shaper: 8

It is a Criminal deck. Not a lot to say about it. It is incredibly hyper aggresive at times, while having the ability to quickly transition into a full rig when needed. The pace of the game tends to be set by my opening hand. I cut Bank Job simply because, in the local meta, it just isn’t practical to hit remote servers and not steal a lot. Just don’t see many naked/poorly defended remotes lately. Cortez remains kind of iffy. I’m going to be honest. 8 games in, I saw it early like… once? It has been very good when I’ve gotten it early though! Needs more testing.

So, consider this a special edition of Running the Nets. Ask questions in the comments (about the decks, about whatever) and I will do my best to answer every single one of them.

Next week we’ll have a little bit of a more regular entry.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by ODie on January 23, 2013 - 11:12 am

    How did you find Ash? I’m yet to experiment with him, but my cynical sense is that when you really need him, you’ve rezzed as much ice as you can to stop the Runner getting in, you’ll be low on credits and the trace attempt will be weak.

    Why do you think that Day 2 didn’t go so well as Day 1? Was an element of surprise lost from your decks that resulted in people playing against you differently (& better), or was it a different environment that meant you played a weaker game?

    • #2 by A Rogue on January 23, 2013 - 2:38 pm

      1. Ash was quite awesome. Generally speaking, his primary strength is in the early/midgame where the Runner is tight on money. His base Trace strength is strong enough that it can be tough for them to beat the Trace, allowing you to sneak out agendas with relative safety. he does lose luster as the game goes on (I managed to be 1 credit short of success once or twice with him), he can, at the very least, force them to spend even more money to get through, making future agendas easier.

      2. I’m not quite sure, honestly, and will need to run the deck a few more times to be sure. I know my play was, on the whole, a bit worse on Day 2. Beyond that… it is hard to say. The first game loss was with my Corp deck and was simply a result of not seeming to ever have quite enough money. My opponent always had JUST enough money to get by. As I stated above, if I’d had one more credit, I probably would have won the game.

      I lost several matchpoints and a prestige in the third round to a timeout with my Runner deck (which was, itself, the result of an unfortunate sequence of events with my Corp deck where I just didn’t see an agenda in a window where seeing one would have won me the game, which caused it to go way long).

      4th Round loss I can sum up briefly: very aggressive player with Yog. It does not play nice with this deck. He was pretty much always a turn ahead of me. This might be a crippling weakness I was concerned about, because very few players seem to run quite as aggressively as him or me and it did hurt a lot. Whether a different ice lineup or one or two play changes would have changed the game (or let me sneak out a few more matchpoints to win the match) is hard to tell.

      On the whole, I do feel that, had one or two things gone slightly differently, I could very well have placed Top 3 quite easily.

  2. #3 by David on January 23, 2013 - 5:16 pm

    Andrew, Round3 Match1 did go way long, but I think a contributing reason is because you only have 8 agendas in your 49-card deck, which also contributed to you not drawing into an agenda with Executive Retreat. Think such an agenda-thin slow-play HB deck runs a higher risk of timing out (much like running Noise big-rig increases the risk of time-outs).

    I’m not the fastest player either, but I do wish I had conceded that match earlier, since I thought I had the 2nd match in the bag ;) Don’t listen to what everybody says about ‘never giving up': give up when it makes sense!

    Here’s my report: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/blogpost/16451/berkeley-tournament-report-trace-amount-jan-2012

    • #4 by A Rogue on January 24, 2013 - 12:09 pm

      Yeah. My limited agenda count is a bit of a double-edged sword in that regard. Still, I haven’t actually had much trouble with the deck and time. The only other game that I’ve had really go to time was on where I gave up 6 agenda points early and basically had to play super carefully the rest of the game to avoid losing anything else. But yeah, low agenda count is a problem when a good (but limited) scoring window presents itself.

  3. #5 by David on January 23, 2013 - 5:25 pm

    Oh, and Ash trolled me hard that game. I had to trash all 3 copies eventually.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

